30 BNP men sent to jail train attack on Hasina

BanglaPress Desk
June 30, 2019

Banglapress Desk: A Dhaka court on Sunday sent 30 BNP leaders and activists to jail in a case filed over a bomb attack on a train carrying then opposition leader and Awami League president Sheikh Hasina in 1994.
Additional District and Sessions Judge Court-1 Rustam Ali passed the order after rejecting their bail petition when they appeared before it seeking bail.
According to the prosecution, miscreants opened fire and hurled bombs targeting a Rajshahi-bound train carrying Sheikh Hasina when it reached Pakshi Rail Station on September 23, 1994.
Nazrul Islam, the then officer-in-charge of Ishwardi Railways Police Station, filed the case in this connection. On April 3, 1997, police submitted a chargesheet against 52 people in the case.
The court also issued warrant today for the arrest of the fugitive accused in the case.
Those denied bail are Abdul Jabbar, Fazlur Rahman, ShamsulAlam, Selim Ahmed, Enamul Kabir, Hafizur Rahman Mukul, Anwar Hossain Jony, Islam Hossain Jewel, Nefaur Rahman Raju, Shah Alam Liton, Mahbubur Rahman Palash, Alamgir Hoosain, Tuhin Bin Siddique, Palash, Rezaul Karim Shahin, Firojul Islam Payel, Kollol, Shyamol, Aram, Atol, Shamsur Rahman Shimua, Barkat Ali, Akkel Ali, Azmal Hossain, Moktar Hossain, Mokhlesur Rahman, Roby and Hakimuddin Tenu. The law-point arguments in the case will begin on Monday.
Advocate Akteruzzaman Mukta and Advocate Salma Ahmed Shilu represented the state while Advocate Nurul Islam stood for the accused.
Habibur Rahman Tota, general secretary of district unit BNP, said, “It’s a political case and we’ll face it legally.”