US Awami League mourns death of Deputy Speaker

BanglaPress Desk
July 24, 2022

Staff Reporter: United States Awami League leaders expressed deep grief over the death of Jatiya Sangsad Deputy Speaker Bir Muktijoddha Advocate Md. Fazle Rabbi Mia.They expressed their deepest condolences to the bereaved family of Fazle Rabbi Mia.

In a condolence message on Saturday (July 23), Awami League President Dr. Siddiqur Rahman and Acting General Secretary Abdus Samad Azad said, Fazle Rabbi Mia was a respected person. He has made outstanding contributions in establishing the rule of law and ensuring justice. The nation will forever remember him with reverence.
Awami League Acting President Shamsuddin Azad, Awami League Leaders Fazlur Rahman, Akhtar Hossain, Mahbubur Rahman, Abul Kashem, Lutful Karim, Dr. Mohammad Ali Manik, Nizam Chowdhury, Abdul Hasib Mamun, Dewan Mohiuddin, Dulal Mia Anam, Mojahidul Islam, Ashrafuzzaman, Solaiman Ali, Dewan Bajlu, Jahangir Karim, Mrs. Diba, Abdul Malik, Hindal Kabir Bappa, Khorshed Khandakar, Shahanara Rahman and Zahirul Islam Zahir also expressed deep grief over the death of Jatiya Sangsad Deputy Speaker Bir Muktijoddha Advocate Md. Fazle Rabbi Mia.
Last Friday (July 22) Fazle Rabbi Mia passed away at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York, United States, at around 2:00 AM Bangladesh time. At that time, his elder daughter Fahima Rabbi Rita and private secretary Taufiqul Islam were present.
Jatiya Sangsad Deputy Speaker and Member of Parliament for Gaibandha-5 Constituency. Fazle Rabbi Mia was suffering from incurable cancer. He was under treatment for nine months at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York.

Fazle Rabbi Mia was born on April 15, 1946 in Gatia village of Saghata upazila of Gaibandha district. His father’s name is Faizar Rahman and mother’s name is Hamidun Necha.
In 1971, Fazle Rabbi Mia joined the great liberation war. He fought in Sector 11. In addition, he made a special contribution to build global public opinion in favor of the independence of Bangladesh.
Fazle Rabbi Mia was elected Member of Parliament as a Jatiya Party candidate from Gaibandha-5 constituency in the 1986 Third, 1988 Fourth, 1991 Fifth and 12th June 1996 National Parliament elections. Later he joined Awami League and was defeated in the 8th National Parliament election in 2001.
He was elected as a member of parliament as a candidate of Awami League from the same seat in the 9th National Assembly elections in 2008, 10th in 2014 and 11th in 2018. He was given the duty of Deputy Speaker from the 10th National Parliament.