10 House Republicans voted to impeach Trump

BanglaPress Desk
January 14, 2021

Staff Reporter: Ten House Republicans in Trump’s party have voted in favor of impeachment motion against US President Donald Trump for a second time, accusing him of inciting violent uprisings. The impeachment motion against Trump was passed by 232-198 votes in the lower house of the US Congress on Wednesday (Bangladesh time on Thursday morning).
The House of Representatives voted Wednesday afternoon to impeach President Trump for his role in last week’s assault on the Capitol as Congress started to formally count the electoral votes showing that President-elect Joe Biden was victorious in last November’s election.
The article of impeachment charged that Trump “gravely endangered the security of the United States and its institutions of Government” by promoting false election fraud claims, seeking to illegally manufacture a different election outcome and inviting his supporters to attend the Jan. 6 rally in Washington that turned violent.
“He threatened the integrity of the democratic system, interfered with the peaceful transition of power, and imperiled a coequal branch of Government,” read the impeachment article. “He thereby betrayed his trust as President, to the manifest injury of the people of the United States.”
Trump became the first president to ever be impeached twice, following his December 2019 impeachment for soliciting foreign election interference before he was acquitted in the Senate. Those articles had no support among House Republicans, who unanimously opposed them, but this time 10 members of Trump’s party voted to impeach.
According to The Guardian, 10 Republican leaders, including Liz Cheney, the daughter of former Vice President Dick Cheney, voted in favor of the Democrats. Others are Rep. Adam Kinzinger of Illinois, Rep. Liz Cheney of Wyoming, Rep. John Katko of New York, Rep. Fred Upton of Michiga, Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington, Rep. Dan Newhouse of Washington, Rep. Peter Meijer of Michigan, Rep. Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio, Rep. Tom Rice of South Carolina, and Rep. David Valadao of California.